This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Outstanding Corporate Innovator Award
Outstanding Corporate Innovator Award

For 33 years, PDMA's exclusive Outstanding Corporate Innovator (OCI) Award has become the premier honor for industry innovators. The OCI Award selection process provides an excellent mechanism for identifying companies that create and capture long-term value through product and service innovation.As a global award, companies around the world are eligible.

The 2020 winners will join 56 organizations granted the OCI Award over the course of its 32-year history. Past winners include Henkel, Lennox, BD (Becton Dickinson), Starbucks, UnitedHealth Group, BMW, Clorox, Corning, Dow Chemical, Marriott and Novozymes.


Nominations are now closed

PDMA employs a rigorous evaluation process for the OCI Award and companies which participate in the process benefit from receiving expert external feedback on their innovation practices and results. Winners are recognized globally and can use this recognition to motivate and reward their organizations.

Firms, regardless of size or industry, which meet the above criteria, are candidates. Self- nominations are encouraged.

Specific Criteria

  • Sustained success in launching new products over a five-year time frame.
    This measure confirms the winner's approach to innovation and new product development goes beyond a single major product success. The winner's new product track record over an extended period provides adequate time to establish its ability to perform at an exceptional level in new product development.

  • Significant company growth from new products.
    This standard insures that new products that simply upgrade and replace previous company products are not considered the sole basis of outstanding performance.

  • Well defined new product development practices and processes that can be described to others.
    Since the OCI Award is a learning tool for other practitioners, it is essential that the winner have new product development practices and processes that can be described adequately to the membership.

  • Distinctive innovative characteristics and intangibles.
    This standard recognizes unique and innovative characteristics of the organization's approach to the new product development process that make it particularly suitable for the organization. It also provides for the recognition of noteworthy intangibles including the organization’s culture.

Selection Process

Those nominees which pass the initial screen will be asked to complete a questionnaire detailing their new product/service development practices and innovation successes. On site examinations are held with the companies which reach finalist status. The winner(s) will be recognized and be required to share their best practices at the 2020 PDMA Annual Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana.

OCI Award Recipients

Since its inception the following companies have been recipients of PDMA’s OCI Award and have participated in the PDMA annual conference, providing valuable insights for the organization and its members. Presentations are available for non-member purchase or as a free download for PDMA members.

PDMA is proud to recognize The Gorilla Glue Company and Porex Corporation (Filtration Group), as the 2019 OCI Award Recipients.

View Past Recipients

  • 2019: The Gorilla Glue Company; Porex Corporation (Filtration Group)
  • 2018: COOEC
  • 2017: Henkel Adhesives; Lennox International
  • 2016: Xerox Services
  • 2015: BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company)
  • 2014: Novozymes; Starbucks
  • 2013: Baker Hughes; Sherwin-Williams Paint Stores Group
  • 2012: Clorox; Faurecia; Skyline Exhibits
  • 2011: Illumina, Inc.; UnitedHealth Group
  • 2010: Kennametal, Inc.
  • 2009: Royal DSM NV; PGi - Premiere Global Services
  • 2008: Corning Incorporated; DuPont
  • 2007: FedEx Corporation; Mine Safety Appliance (MSA)
  • 2006: Xerox Corporation; Bank of America Global Consumer & Small; Business Bank
  • 2005: dj Orthopedics; Sprint / Nextel
  • 2004: Affymetrix; Air Force Research Laboratory
  • 2003: Dow Polyolefins; Harley Davidson
  • 2002: BMW Group AG; Teknion
  • 2001: Window Fashions Divisions-Hunter Douglas
  • 2000: EXFO Electro-Optical; Rockwell Collins

OCI Award Winners 2019

1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252
St. Paul, Minnesota 55114 USA
tel: 1-651-290-6280
fax: 1-651-290-2266

Sitemap | Email Deliverability

Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2020 PDMA. All rights reserved.